Book Review: The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones

I just finished reading The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. Now don’t judge, I know this is meant for young adults and I don’t count as a young anything any longer. (Howdy 40.) But sometimes I like to move outside of the dark and disturbing and see what young people are reading now.

I am going to start off by saying that I enjoyed this one. I really did.  There were a few things that were a bit predictable (for me to complain about that would be the pot calling the kettle black), but over all, not bad.

Is Clary A strong female lead?  That is a tough one. I actually think she qualifies fairly well, her main goal in not just to get the guy (and thank goodness she didn’t, but I won’t provide spoilers. You will figure it out early on.) She does have to be saved a few times, but Simon has to be saved more, so I still give her credit.

The characters are good, you care about them and what happens to them, though I would have liked to see more rounding out of Isabelle and Alex.  Of course, there are several more books to go and I may regret saying that. I plan to read the next one, but I will be rooting for Alec to get what he wants 😉

~Heather

Leave a Reply

